Our Towns


Glasshouse Country generally refers to the area that comprises of six towns in the region surrounding the Glass House Mountains.It encompasses the towns of Beerburrum, Glass House Mountains, Beerwah, Peachester, Landsborough, Mooloolah, and the locales of Glenview and Palmview.
In previous years, this region was traditionally referred to as ‘The Railway Towns’. In 1976 the Lions Club ran a competition to come up with a better name, and the winning entry was Glasshouse Country. This name identifies with the Glass House Mountains as the location, recognises that it includes a number of towns, and is proud of being a country region.

The area around the Glass House Mountains is known locally as Glass House Country.¬†Known for its rich volcanic soil, it is no surprise that crops such as Pineapples, Strawberries, Avocado, Macadamia nuts and Lychee are grown extensively in the region.¬†Until recently tobacco was also farmed. Now, one of Queensland’s largest commercial pine tree plantations is obvious as the traveller criss-crosses the area, surrounding the ancient peaks of the mountains which are sacred sites to the local indigenous traditional land owners.

The whole Sunshine Coast region is full of natural beauty, from the spectacular coastline to the stunning hinterland. Come for a day, come for a stay! The region is easily access with a reliable rail network, public transport and two major airports within an hour’s drive, making the region easy to access to the many visitors who come here and enjoy our warm climate all year round.